43 Comments

Roses and Chamomile (Flash Fiction)

This is my response to Priceless Joy’s photo prompted Flash Fiction challenge (75 – 175 words). It’s my pleasure to also thank Cat for the inspiring shot, too.

wpid-photo-20150309114151945

PART ONE

The world lay at Kyle’s feet as he gazed out of the seventh-story window, out over the vast lake.

His heart pounded against his ribcage like the waves beat against the dock below. Success, money, fame — he’d still felt empty.

But things changed when his wife, not their cook, had surprised him with dinner. It’d tasted awful, but he’d realized he needed to rekindle their passion. She wasn’t just his business partner; she was his heart that had grown cold. That was the problem.

Every day since, he’d done something special for her in between meetings. He already felt like a happier man.

Smirking, he turned away from the window and sauntered into the bathroom. “Do I have my queen’s permission to join her now?”

Leslie smiled, surrounded by billows of bubbles. Kyle knelt beside the rose-and-chamomile-scented tub and captured her mouth. A smile stretched across her luscious lips. She wrapped a hand around his neck. Shivers ran down his spine. He’d missed this feeling.

His face slapped the surface of the water and went under.

(176 words)

~*~

bath-candles

PART TWO

Kyle tried to jerk his head back up, but Leslie’s sharp nails dug into his skin and kept him under. A force yanked his arms behind him. He couldn’t move the rest of his body.

What the hell?

She fisted his hair and tugged his head up. “The gifts, the breakfast in bed, the surprises at work. Trying to play me for a fool, you whore?”

He sucked in more air. “Are you craz—”

She shoved his head back into the water. Fear gripped him as his lungs burned and his vision blurred.

She’ll let go.

She’ll stop.

I only wanted to

(102 words)

43 comments on “Roses and Chamomile (Flash Fiction)

  1. That was very intense. Excellent. I enjoyed reading it. Felt sorry for him at the end of course. (She must have been a very strong woman).

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yikes! You kept me on the edge of my seat this whole time. Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved how your story seemed like it would be this great romance but turned into a revenge killing. I feel sorry for him actually, he was trying to make things better and it was to the point already in their relationship where she hated him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really is! Thank you so much for reading and commenting. Leslie loved Kyle as much as she hated him. All he wanted was to love her like they both deserve, but as you know, she didn’t take it that way. Now it’s a loss instead of a gain for both of them.

      Liked by 1 person

    • And another thing, they both made drastic assumptions. He assumed that his actions were improving her life as much as they were improving his; she assumed his actions were signs of guilt (and since he took her life, she would take his). Craziness!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Enjoyed that. On the strength thing, I thought she may have drugged him.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Question, questions, questions… Did she have help? There’s one line, “A force yanked his arms behind him”, that makes it sound like there’s someone else. Or did she poison him with the meal she’d cooked?
    I think both parts would work alone – I like that. But together, they tell an even bigger story. Great work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!! The way I see it, there are multiple ways “the force” can be interpreted. For example:

      1. Poison: Leslie’s been cooking dinner lately. Maybe tonight she added an extra special ingredient into his plate. To Kyle, his pounding heart and slow saunter to the bathroom were caused by his rekindled passion for his wife and happiness; but maybe it was the poison. And when Leslie started drowning him, he panicked, which didn’t help things. He lost control of his body, because of the poison and stress coursing through him, but he couldn’t describe exactly what was happening.

      2. There was someone else in their home. Someone who hid until they heard a struggle to come help Leslie off Kyle. Again, Kyle was too busy drowning and being betrayed to be a reliable source.

      3. Leslie’s been dabbling in “black magic.”

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It seems, she was no fool. Short and intense. Nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Geez, the wifey is a bit cold-hearted…and pretty strong too!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The end of Part one really surprised me as I felt it was heading to such a tender moment BUT you took me in a different direction and by the end I have this feeling he deserves all he gets….very engaging Izzy….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahh, so you’re #teamLeslie, I see. It’s interesting to imagine her side of things. If I ever write a part three, it’ll be written from her perspective. Thanks for reading! I really appreciate it

      Like

  9. Loved it. Wonder what he did to deserve it?Wonder if the food tasted bad because it was poisoned?great piece Izzy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Gee, I wouldn’t want to get on the wrong side of Leslie! Great story, very suspenseful. I read it really fast wanting to know what happened at the end and then had to go back and read it again! I too, thought that Leslie had help (yanking Kyle’s arms behind him).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wouldn’t want to face Leslie, either. The way she kept that sweet smile on her face until the very second she slammed his head into the water (maybe even after that). o_O I’m thrilled to read that you felt the suspense. Thank you so much!

      Like

  11. Talk about a sudden twist to the story, wow! is there a part 3?

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, there wouldn’t be a part three, would there? And I’ve never spoken of a continuation until now… Not to anyone… Not even your grandfather… A woman’s heart is a deep ocean of secrets. But now you know there were two people named Kyle and Leslie … and while he tried to save his marriage … in every way that a relationship can be saved … she’d had enough. I don’t even have a picture of them. I guess what happens next exists now … only in our imaginations.

      (If you’re wondering “What the heck is she talking about,” don’t worry. I tweaked Rose’s quote from Titanic 😉 )

      Like

  12. Wow! This is a very intriguing story. It caught me by surprise. I wanted to reach in an help him!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. A sinister tale, I think Izzy, and nicley told. She evidently had help at the well-scented bath tub: ‘A force yanked his arms behind him.’ You leave it nicely open-ended. She might just let go . . . I’m not sure I’d bet on it, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Oooh, I did not see that coming. I guess his gifts were a little too late…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. wow !! intense..I guess that is what a guy gets for assuming..good read.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. In part one I wasn’t sure if he’d imagined it and had maybe jumped out of the building but I’m glad his wife wised up to him. He must not have had much fight in him for her to over power him. Very intense!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment