Leave a comment

If Only, If Only, The Woodpecker Sighs

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Set It To Rights.” Think of a time you let something slide, only for it to eat away at you later. Tell us how you’d fix it today.

I’m currently unemployed (not getting paid for the work I do), but every day I strive towards becoming an author, getting into a MFA program, and assisting my psychology research lab. The other day, a dear loved one of mine asked for my help in a project. Her words were “Can you help me? I mean, you need something to do, right? It’s not like you’re doing much.”

I was hurt, but I decided to let it slide for the time being and told her I’d think about helping her. Sadly, her words did eat away at me. No, I’m not getting paid, but I am working. I am going after my dream career, even though others may not believe in me or my choices. I am keeping focus and taking ownership of my life. So what would I do today about what she said? I’d tell her all this — which is what I’m going to do when I let her know my decision about helping her with her project and dreams.

Mary Seller at Thought Catalog once said:

I want to make this clear: I’m not advising anyone to quit their job. I’m not promoting a pleasure-seeking life. I’m not saying twenty-somethings should be privileged just because the economy is bad. What I am doing is standing up for myself and my current jobless state. I feel like a good many people believe I’m not “doing anything” when that’s quite the opposite. [. . .] If you’re actively seeking to better yourself in the process, what are you really doing wrong? What is there to condemn you for?

“If only, if only,” the woodpecker sighs, “The bark on the tree was just a little bit softer.” While the wolf waits below, hungry and lonely, He cries to the moo-oo-oon, “If only, if only” (Holes, Louis Sachar — we all have something to deal with).

Leave a Reply

