20 Comments

And This One’s For You (Flash Fiction)

I’ve been gone from the blogosphere for a long time. As I come back, it’s only fitting that I would join in Priceless Joy’s writing challenge, Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Thank you, TJ Paris, for providing the inspiring photo prompt this week. If you haven’t heard of or joined this challenge, please try it out. It’s a great way to connect with others and share stories. Check out PJ’s blog for more details and entertaining entries. You won’t regret it.

 

 

*

Now, to the story:

*

A hush lies over the library, only punctured by the scratch of quills. I drift to the chair in the corner, minding the warmth of the sun on my shoulders.

This can’t go on. I must tell him to stop. It’s not right. Not proper. He’s not my… But my heart beats faster every time I peel back a page and find a note.

I used to blush something fierce, but the guards sent to accompany my every step are none the wiser. They believe the tint in my cheeks to be the silly merriments of a young damsel with her books.

Maybe they’re right. I move the hardback closer, running my finger over the note. In a few days, my . . . that other man . . . my Chosen . . . he’ll take my neck to his teeth. And I shall take his. That’s true love, yes? Not this flutter in my chest from a note. I need to believe that. Have to.

*

(158 words)

*

20 comments on “And This One’s For You (Flash Fiction)

  1. Hahaha! She is a vampire and in love with another vampire! Very creative Izzy! Welcome back! I missed you! Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the take on the prompt 🙂 Welcome back!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A very well crafted story to read indeed. I enjoyed reading this tale!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Great story, good to have you back.
    It makes me think of hotel Transylvanian.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Welcome back Izzy…you have written another great story. Very enjoyable read.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great write.

    Welcome. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Nice to see you back, Izzy! And good to read you, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Welcome back, Izzy! From the presence of the guards, I’m guessing she didn’t choose her ‘Chosen’. I hope she manages to find a way to be with her other suitor and that they have a happy non-life together. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Your guess is spot-on, and I hope the same for her, too (lol, happy non-life). Oh, how I missed you guys! Looking forward to reading Crisis Point

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve missed seeing you around, as well, Izzy. 🙂 I hope your time away from the blog was enjoyable / productive. We all have to take breaks occasionally, otherwise we never get any of the big projects finished! I’m planning to be off a lot during July as I’m taking part in CampNaNo again. I’m working on my flash fiction collection this time so hopefully I’ll manage to find some time to visit blogs and not just vanish for the month like last time! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Interesting. Not sure I get the deeper idea, but I like it anyway; more my denseness than any flaw in the writing. I like the mystery.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Quite creative and it was at the end that I figured it out. Enjoyable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

