1 Comment

Self-Rejection and Self-Acceptance

Holiness of Heart

3535571069_470f9ce4f4

“The real trap, however, is self-rejection. As soon as someone accuses me or criticizes me, as soon as I am rejected, left alone, or abandoned, I find myself thinking, “Well, that proves once again that I am a nobody.”  My dark side says I am no good…I deserve to be pushed aside, forgotten, rejected, and abandoned. Self-rejection is the greatest enemy of the spiritual life because it contradicts the sacred voice that calls us the “Beloved.” Being the Beloved constitutes the core truth of our existence.” Henri Nouwen

The longing to feel accepted, enjoyed, and loved is at the core of every human.   Part of cultivating a healthy spiritual life involves a process of  accepting our self in the grace of God.  This requires that we become acquainted with our true self, in our present condition, and learn to living according to the reality of who we are today while working toward who…

View original post 620 more words

One comment on “Self-Rejection and Self-Acceptance

  1. Quite so … m’dear! Thankfully I found a meditation process that just plain works, 40 some years ago. So, knowing my core. My true self, have never felt that type of rejection. Yet, you make it so understandable … great post! Cheers Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

