18 Comments

C’est La Vie (Flash Fiction)!

Raising a glass of champagne to Priceless Joy who hosts Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (75 – 175 words); she also found the inspiring photo prompt this week from pixabay.com. If you haven’t heard of or joined this fiction challenge, please do yourself a favor and check out PJ’s blog for more details and entertaining entries. You won’t regret it.

*

Now! Onward to the story:

*

The driveway is empty. Still.

I push my curls over my bare shoulder and glare at my phone for the hundredth time. Its light shines in the darkness of the foyer. Call me back! That’s the least Eli can do. All he has to say is he’s running late. Because he is just late. Nothing more.

Goosebumps run up my arms. I glance to the right, then the—

Headlights flash along the dimly lit street.

I hold my breath. But the car speeds by.

Another car passes the house, but it stops, backs into my driveway, and cuts its lights. Two shadowy figures slip out and walk up to ring the bell. I hide behind the curtain. Panic rises in my chest, squeezing against my red dress.

Boom! Boom! Boom! “Open up. It’s the police!”

Dammit, Eli. Not again. Trembling, I hurry to the dining room and sink into a chair. I gulp down a glass of wine and lie my head on the table. The centerpiece candle flickers as they bust down the door.

“Happy anniversary,” I whisper.

*

(178 words)

*

(Truth be told, I had to kill a few of my darlings [sentences] in my manuscript.

So I tweaked them to create this week’s flash fiction.

Hope you enjoyed it.)

18 comments on “C’est La Vie (Flash Fiction)!

  1. Oh no….sad, but written beautifully. You’re so good at these. ☺

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great job on using the prompt picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love it! Haha! You killed your darlings and put them in FFfAW post. LOL! I guess Eli got into a world of trouble to have policemen bust down the door. He must be on the run.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fantastic! You could “flash ” a couple hundred pages to go with what you’ve written. This was fun!!!! ☕️❤️

    Like

  5. Just got back from travelling, Izzy – your fiction is one of the pleasures awaiting.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a very well written piece 🙂 I enjoyed it a lot, but then, I enjoy all of your fiction 🙂

    Like

  7. Say, Izzy, did I ever sent the email with my comments? I didn’t, did I? How rubbish of me. I apologise. Well, the good news is that my MIL’s left and the holiday is almost over, so I’ve got more time. Better get my act together before Sunday, though.

    I love this, btw. Happy anniversary indeed…

    Like

  8. Oh how unfortunate for her. Wonder what Eli has done, though she doesn’t seem to be too surprised. At least she was quick enough to wish herself Happy Anniversary before the police ran the house down! I enjoyed reading your story!

    Like

  9. Great and powerful story. Interesting take on the prompt too!

    Like

  10. I like your writing style. The first-person present really puts the reader in the scene.

    Like

  11. Well done Izzy and you create excellent tension within the character and the audience, now why has this happened??

    Like

  12. Sad, Eli does something again. Well told! Not a very happy anniversary.

    Like

  13. This tale can go so many places. Very well crafted and intriguing.

    Like

  14. Fascinating! What did Eli do this time? What did Eli do the last time? Hmmm, I don’t know why but I like how she pushes her curls over her bare shoulder…you left us hanging though…what happens next…we must know!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

