2 Comments

Izzy May I: The Write Catalyst

Hey hey, my loves. Welcome back to “Izzy May I.” To start us off again, here’s an excellent question someone asked me yesterday: What is the initial incident that springs your main character(s) towards your story’s main plot?

carrieslap

For me, it’s a literal slap of betrayal. I considered the horror from both perspectives (my MC’s and her dad’s) as I wrote this scene. I wanted to explore what it was like to physically hurt someone you cherish and want to keep away from harm, but now someone you need to protect from yourself.

200

Also, I wanted to explore what it was like to run away from your own parent, who’s succumbing to his demons—to see the immediate regret / shame on his face, but to still feel scared of him and disgusted with that fear.

So what about your MC or a current favorite MC (be it a flash fiction, short story, or novel)?

2 comments on “Izzy May I: The Write Catalyst

  1. Oh Izzy, currently I’m the main character. I don’t have a plan. I’m waking the tightrope and trying to stay on an even keel.
    😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

