20 Comments

Day 5: Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge

Evvi stared at her brother’s body down below. Laughter rippled through her. Why was he lying there like that? Legs weren’t supposed to bend that way. Her vision blurred.

A gust of wind whipped her hair into her wet face.

Turner pulled her from the ledge. “Rodney wouldn’t tell me the truth. You were gone, and he was to blame — that’s all I knew.”

Quivering with rage, she jerked away from him. “You had no right. H-He betrayed me, not you. He was mine.” She punched him.

He flailed his arms and teetered on the edge.

Her mind flashed to her brother’s splattered body. Gasping, she yanked Turner back into the room and stumbled to the floor.

Everyone was stunned into silence.

Her breathing was uneven. Blood rushed to her head. So much blood.

Turner slammed the door shut and towered over her. “You’re trying to kill me? Me?

So much blood down there on that sidewalk. Her brother’s blood. Her blood. Because of him! She should’ve let him fall.

Evvi stood and backed away from Turner, afraid of how much she wanted to kill him.

Angry murmurs filled the room. All eyes were on her, questioning, judging. She bumped against the crowd, who shoved her down at Turner’s feet.

His eyes bore into her. “Give me a gun!”

Someone did. Just like that.

He aimed it at her. “Like brother, like sister.”

Evvi curled her toes. He was just trying to scare her. He would fight the urge to hurt her just like she had done for him. He wouldn’t20150403_151647

He shot her.

Her screams deafened her. She watched in sick fascination as blood trickled out of the wound in her shoulder. That bastard shot her. He really shot her.

Her senses reeled as the crowd jeered. Did they torture her brother like this before throwing him from the building? Did he scream, too?

Turner crouched in front of her. “I’m very disappointed in you. We should be celebrating, but look what you’ve done.”

They took her to the infirmary. Then Turner tucked her into bed.

“I forgive you,” he whispered before kissing her. He’d never done that in public before.

She should’ve hightailed it out of there the first chance she got. But she didn’t. Why? She couldn’t answer that. Still, she found herself at the train station near that stupid lake more often than she’d like to admit.

Her gaze followed those getting on and never looking back. Maybe today was the day. Maybe tomorrow.

She sighed and turned around, only to come face-to-face with Detective Parker.

“Hello, Payton — if that’s your real name.”

(437 words)

black bar 3

Sonya nominated me for the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge — I’ll continue to thank her ever so kindly! If anyone hasn’t read her stories, you’re missing out. While she completed her series, this is my final entry (click here for part 1, part 2, part 3, and part 4). Also, check out Ella aka Jumbleskine’s fourth entry, Jessica’s fourth entry, and keep a look out for stories from Stomperdad and Victoria.

The Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge rules require you to . . .

  • Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo.
  • The story can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or simply a short paragraph — it’s entirely up to you.
  • Then each day, nominate another blogger to carry on this challenge. Accepting the challenge is entirely up to the person nominated, it is not a command.

Today, I nominate Ameena who’s kept me on the edge of my seat with her Blackout series!

20 comments on “Day 5: Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge

  1. Gripping story you’ve got on the go here, Izzy. I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a really good story, Izzy. A very enjoyable read. 🙂 I particularly like the ending of this part. Will Evvi finally break free from Turner? Will Detective Parker finally learn the truth?You leave us with lots of questions and Evvi with a big choice to make. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! 😀 I was going to answer more questions, but I was inspired to leave a handful of them open to our imaginations. Plus, I’m pretty sure we’ll meet these characters again down the road.

      Like

  3. Compusive reading, Izzy. It’s fast paced and grippingly tense. You’ve definitely got a great storyline here, and still there are questions to be answered. But, leaving things open to speculation can work equally well.:) Well done with this challenge, anyway. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Izzy, you are an amazing writier! You are going to continue this, I hope….. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Only just caught up on this – a great story! Is it really the end? *sniff*

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Freaky stuff. So many twists and turns. Who knows what’s going to happen next? I hope you’re going to continue the story. I’m totally engrossed in it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ooohhhh, this one intriguing mystery, makes me keep wanting more. Just a few clarifications tho Izzy. How did Evvi get to a train station of she was injured? And what’s Detective Parker doing there?
    And. Thank you so much for the Nomination :D. I will try to make time for the posts, (maybe not today or tomorrow), but I will try and do them. Thanks 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry this is so late! I’ll do better!

      Answers to your questions: Some time had passed before the final part with Evvi at the train station (which is near the bridge that Rodney had driven off). It kind of goes with the saying “They always return to the scene of the crime.” But still, what is Detective Parker doing there?!! I’ll explore that in my continuation (whenever that happens, lol).

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting with such enthusiasm. Again, I’m sorry for my lateness.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. You know what, Izzy? I am so glad I nominated you. I so enjoyed watching the story unfold. I hope we’ll see Evvi again. I really like the open ending, though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

