26 Comments

Give Me Peace | Memories Part III (Flash Fiction)

It’s my pleasure to thank Priceless Joy for this photo prompted Flash Fiction challenge (75 – 175 words). And thanks to pixabay.com for the free photo. This is a continuation from this prompt and this one, but all of my pieces can be read as standalones.

These Memories Won’t Give Me Peace (Hansel’s POV)

The clown sucks up snot and spits in the corner. “That pacing’s getting on my damn nerves, sonny boy.”

I continue anyway, though I’m trapped within these iron bars. This should feel like home, what with all my childhood days spent in cages. A laugh gurgles out. I gnash my sharp teeth against the memories.

black bar 3

I grasped the bars of the metal crate and screamed into the empty cellar. “Papa, please. I’m sor—ry.” I winced as my voice broke.

Papa found out that I’d killed Stepmother’s memorial flower. But it wasn’t from neglect. Gretel had knocked into me in the kitchen. The poison that’d been meant for Papa spilled into the pot. I couldn’t tell him that. Or Gretel.

I gingerly touched the bruise along my side and hissed in pain. I wasn’t going to cry. Not this time.

When Papa finally freed me, his blue eyes pierced me. Gretel ran into my arms and crushed into my sore ribcage. I bit back a groan.

Her shoulders shook. Her tears soaked my shirt. I pressed my cheek against her hair and pulled her closer, ignoring the pain. One of these days, I’d free us of Papa, just as Gretel had freed us of the witch.

(188 words)

26 comments on “Give Me Peace | Memories Part III (Flash Fiction)

  1. I love this darker side to the Hansel and Gretel story. Who’d have thought that of the father. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is absolutely awesome Izzy! Very very interesting and it pulled me right into the story. Thank you for leaving links to your previous installments. I know for me, I have to re-read them because after reading so many stories it is hard to keep up. This story is brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is great and very well written!
    A wonderful extension to a classic fairy tale.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very awesome. I love following your storyline every week.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh well done Izzy. I love the picture you paint of Papa here, and Hansel and Gretel’s situation doesn’t get any easier. This story just gets better by the week. Well written! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great how you linked his present and his past here. Does it get more intriguing every week? I think it does!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Another griping story, Izzy. The first sentence is awesome! Love reading your stories each week.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Izzy it’s always a pleasure reading your stories. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So the beginning part about the clown was he dreaming or imagining that his father was a clown keeping him captive?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, like his father is now a phantom lurking at the edge of his sanity? That wasn’t the case before, but I love that! I’m stealing it lol. Makes me think of “My Immortal” by Evanescence. ❤ 😦 ❤

      Here are some of the lyrics:

      "I'm so tired of being here
      Suppressed by all my childish fears
      And if you have to leave
      I wish that you would just leave
      'Cause your presence still lingers here
      And it won't leave me alone

      These wounds won't seem to heal
      This pain is just too real
      There's just too much that time cannot erase"

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I really like this series, Izzy. You create a great twist on the fairytale. I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This has always been a scary story for me. Your take on it is filled with shadows and love.
    Ellespeth

    Liked by 1 person

  12. […] detoured from my dark Hansel & Gretel tale for this week’s Flash Fiction challenge (75 – 175 words). Hope you […]

    Like

  13. […] Fairytale. The following can be read as a standalone, but if you want to read part 1, part 2, and part 3, just click on the links. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

