11 Comments

Speak Up! Fridays Quotes (16)

The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Walk the Line.”

“It takes a lot of courage to show your dreams to someone else” — Erma Bombeck

Sharing my creative writing with others is gratifying as much as it is terrifying, because I’m not just writing for myself anymore. To say I don’t care what others think would be a blatant and unnecessary lie. I do care, and that’s not going away. I want to hear specific feedback, whether it’s all love or constructive criticism because they’re showing me that they believe I can grow. What gets to me is when I’m just given “Nice.” I don’t know if they mean it or if they’re just trying to be nice. Maybe I’m projecting my own doubts onto them (which isn’t fair to anyone). Maybe I shouldn’t say all of this because I shouldn’t let anyone see me sweat. Maybe I should hold back until I’m able to make others think writing always comes easy to me, but no. None of that is real — that isn’t me — and for whom’s benefit would I be doing it for? My mind wades through these thoughts as I listen to this song.

11 comments on “Speak Up! Fridays Quotes (16)

  1. I believe in writing with few filters and an open heart. There will always be some who don’t get me, or my writing, but I can only speak my own truths. If they resonate with others, it’s that much more “rewarding.”

    This video is really amazing… on so many levels.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can understand the terror of sharing your writing with people. I’m constantly overthinking and wondering if it makes sense to the reader the way it does it me. Am I too vague in some places? Do they like it? Do they not and are just pretending?

    As someone who feels the need to please people so they’ll like me (not the best way to live life, but I’m working on it!), I used to write what I thought people would enjoy, or what they wanted me to write. I’m slowly overcoming that, but the doubt still makes me extremely cautious before I post anything. Everything gets proofread about twenty times, and even still I’m questioning, is it good enough?

    I love the quote!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing this, despite your nerves. ❤ The honesty and care you put into your posts and comments hook me. Now I'm even more aware of how much you put into each of them. It's great to connect with others who've also experienced the realization that the nerves aren't going anywhere, so we might as well keep going and bring them along instead of waiting for them to leave/evaporate.

      We just gotta go for it.

      And if we're not authentic with our writing, that passion we have for writing might just burn out. I'm glad you're writing what you also want. I think it's important to say what we feel the need to say as others who are looking for those words, for those messages, will pass on by and also miss that chance to connect. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Comments like that are the absolute worst. I absolutely understand why you’re afraid to share it, it’s such a personal thing

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fwow! What a video😰 So many “translations” for it….I have to keep on watching it for a while…
    As far as for writing is concerned, I myself had never thought of exposing myself, because I used to write just for myself. I still write for myself 😆 but I like to be liked for my writing.I ‘m not afraid of exposure anymore… I’ve changed level, it seems! !! Yuppie! !!!!😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

