7 Comments

How Could I Ever Write My Own Eulogy?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “In Loving Memory.”

Also, a shout out to Amie Writes (happy birthday!) and Bynda

“Carve your name on hearts, not tombstones.

A legacy is etched into the minds of others

and the stories they share about you.” ― Shannon L. Alder

To Remember Me — Robert N. Test

Give my sight to the man who has never seen a sunrise,

a baby’s face or love in the eyes of a woman.

Give my heart to a person whose own heart

has caused nothing but endless days of pain.

Give my blood to the teenager who was pulled from the wreckage of his car,

so that he might live to see his grandchildren play.

Give my kidneys to the one who depends on a machine

to exist from week to week.

Take my bones, every muscle, every fiber and nerve in my body

and find a way to make a crippled child walk.

Explore every corner of my brain.

Take my cells, if necessary, and let them grow so that,

someday a speechless boy will shout at the crack of a bat

and a deaf girl will hear the sound of rain against her window.

Burn what is left of me and scatter the ashes

to the winds to help the flowers grow.

If you must bury something, let it be my faults, my weakness

and all prejudice against my fellow-man.

Give my sins to the devil.

Give my soul to God. If, by chance, you wish to remember me, do it with

a kind deed or word to someone who needs you.

If you do all I have asked, I will live forever.

For Whom I Am

Quentin Fields

For Whom I Love

Holy One

Hazel Grace & Augustus Waters

Severus Snape

Gareth

Campbell “Cam” Saunders

Jimmy Edwards

Jesus Christ (always)

7 comments on “How Could I Ever Write My Own Eulogy?

  1. […] In Loving Memory The Everyday WriterLater. The Life Of LexeHow to wrap up life in one small paper? Izzy-grabs-lifeHow Could I Ever Write My Own Eulogy? Awake and UnafraidObituary Kim’s BlogIn Loving Memory Jenny AhlersJenny the Great (fake […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a lovely clip. thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The one from One Tree Hill…sorry. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Memory The Everyday Writer Later. The Life Of Lexe How to wrap up life in one small paper? Izzy-grabs-life How Could I Ever Write My Own Eulogy? Awake and Unafraid Obituary Kim’s Blog In Loving Memory Jenny Ahlers Jenny the Great […]

    Like

  5. […] Writer – Later. 87. The Life Of Lexe – How to wrap up life in one small paper? 88. Izzy-grabs-life – How Could I Ever Write My Own Eulogy? 89. Awake and Unafraid – Obituary 90. Kim’s Blog – In Loving Memory 91. Jenny […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

