10 Comments

Izzy May I: The Write Snack Attack

I don’t know about you, but writing inspires me as much as it frustrates me. Prayer, love, and food are must-haves in my working space.

Speaking of food, did you know Victor Hugo (“Les Misérables” and “The Hunchback of Notre‑Dame”) needed strong coffee with two drops of raw egg to fuel his creativity? Or that Agatha Christie (“And Then There Were None” and “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd”) couldn’t be trusted? She always found a way to suck out the creamy inners of scones. And Stephen King (“The Shining” and “The Long Walk”), yeah, this guy needs a mean slice of cheesecake and his wife’s fishy dishes to whip out another bestseller.

Snacks serve as little rewards and comforts for all types of writers. I’m sure Sigmund Freud, Ivan Pavlov, B.F. Skinner, and Carl Rogers would have a lot to say about that.

So what are your favorite snacks to keep close during the struggles and thrills of writing? Click on the icon below to get more information on how to participate in this event.

addtext_com_MjAyMjQwMTA3ODU5

I’ll share my favorites. Let’s start with . . .

Featured image

GREEN TEA

I’m addicted. I’m an addict. I can never get enough of this dreamy liquid heaven. It relieves stress, waltzes with my taste buds, and hugs my soul. Must I go on? 😎

~*~

Featured image

FRUIT, SMOOTHIES, AND YOGURT

These three are like fictional characters. Many types are out there, but there are those you love, like, stay away from, find so nasty you have to keep consuming, or really despise. They can be bursts of life and bites of death.

~*~

Featured image

MORNING STAR BUFFALO WINGS

Taste the heat in these crispy, meatless buffalo wings. Shower them with ranch and hot sauce to give them that extra kick. These babies never disappoint. For vegetarians and omnivores alike!

~*~

Featured image

RITZ CRACKER PIZZA BITES

What excuse would I have for not bringing these bite-size gratifications into my life? They’re so easy and quick to make. Besides the basics of sauce and cheese, I’ve topped them with banana peppers. Don’t knock it ’til you try it.

~*~

Featured image

PRETZEL RODS

I love the thick, crunchy pretzel rods, but I have to scrape off their salt. And! If I eat too much, they leave me dry-mouthed and parched. Talk about a complicated relationship. Love them, but some things have to change.

~*~

Featured image

FRENCH TOAST CRUNCH

“I’ll fly to the moon and back if you’ll be, if you’ll be my baby” (Savage Garden). It’s an understatement to say I was tripping over myself when I found out this cereal was back in action. A handful here, three handfuls there. Suddenly, there’s no doubt that I can get through this pesky scene. ( 😛 ) Still, I have to hold back every now and then. Having as little as possible or none at all ignites a deeper craving, builds up frustration — effective emotions (for the most part) to possess as I revise a psychological suspense.

~*~

Featured image

PB&J AND WHEAT BREAD

Emily Dickinson was as known for her fresh-baked bread as her poetry. Her loaves and spreads might’ve been better than my bad boys, but that prospect doesn’t diminish my love for them.

~*~

Featured image

COOKIES

Organic Animal Crackers that taste like delicious shortbread cookies. Yes, please!! Don’t be stingy.

~*~

Featured image

COOKIE BROWNIES

Balancing brown butter cookies and brownies never looked or tasted so marvelous. These delights cut me deep.

~*~

Featured image

ICE-CREAM

Ice-cream pursues me, releases me, and leaves me with chills. From vanilla to cookie dough to oreo cookie to neapolitan to cookie sandwiches. Gotta have ’em all.

10 comments on “Izzy May I: The Write Snack Attack

  1. Wow, I don’t think I would get any writing done with all those delectable snacks!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome! First and last are too my favourite one 😉 Loved it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG ! You do love your snacks! Delicious, delicious delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Don’t rely on just your sight. That sentence might look better than a fresh can of Arizona green tea on paper or the computer screen, but that sentence needs to sound right out loud, too. Read your […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

