4 Comments

Stimulating My Creativity

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Time Capsule.” What would you put in this year’s time capsule to channel the essence of our current moment for future generations? I would put a number of things, including all the books that I could fit in there (with pressed flower bookmarks), paintings, different maps, clothes, toothbrushes, soap, alcohol, garden seeds, handwritten letters, pictures, and Matt’s video of dancing around the world (see below).

In an earlier post, I asked how far would you go to get into your character’s mind.

One major component for me is music.

Listening to music helps me get into the mood. Everything, from the opening note to the last word sung, helps me plug out of my psyche and into the character’s. “I” don’t exist as I interpret for my MC.

Music (whether instrumental, soundscape, with lyrics, or vibrations) also pumps my senses as far as settings, time periods, and cultures are concerned. Let’s say I researched the French Renaissance during the 16th century. Music can reactivate that information and add more depth. It’s all about making my work more personal, real, vibrant, and raw.


Still, there are times when the sweetest inspirations come from the natural and obnoxious sounds drifting in with the breeze. Or the rushing sound of water from my shower. Or even no noise at all. Pure silence. It all depends on what I’m writing, what draft it is, and what kind of day I’m having.

Check out these websites and more videos below.

And let me know what motivates you. What kind of music, sounds, or vibrations do you prefer to listen to and feel?

4 comments on “Stimulating My Creativity

  1. It depends on the muse then switch on the music. Or vice versa. The music replay repetitively in my head and moves my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

